Myles Olson

Oct 7, 2019 at 2:28 AM by Myles Olson

To whom it may concern,

Hello, my name is Myles C. J. Olson, and I am a Grade 11 student attending Britannia Secondary School. My hobbies are photography, reading, gardening. I love to hang out with my friends and am always looking for opportunities to better myself.

I believe that the ocean literacy principle that I am most familiar with is principle 5, the fact that the ocean supports a great diversity of life and ecosystems. As a child, for hours on end, I would watch a great deal of documentaries about the ocean and all of its inhabitants with my grandmother. This instilled in me a great fascination of marine life, which has remained with me to this day. 

The principle that I know the least about is the third principle, that the ocean is a major influence on weather and climate. While I have always knew that it did, I've never considered why the ocean has an influence weather and climate, nor have I ever given myself the chance to investigate into the matter.